How to Delegate Your Outlook Account to Someone

It is quite common to share your calendar in Outlook, and in many companies, all Outlook calendars are visible by default for the entire desktop. But you can give someone a much higher level of visibility and control by delegating your account so that they can create and respond to meetings and emails for you. Let's see how it works.

To delegate your mailbox to someone, click File> Account Settings, then click the "Delegate Access" command.

This opens the Delegates window, which will be empty the first time you open it. Click the "Add" button to configure a delegate.

This opens the global address list (the list of everyone in your company), so you can choose a delegate. (You cannot delegate your account to someone outside of your email domain, which means that if your email address is jane@mycompany.com, you can only delegate your mailbox ; to someone whose email address ends with "@ mycompany.com.")

Select the person to whom you are delegating, then click "OK" to open the delegate permissions.

Default permissions give the delegate editor rights to your calendar and to-do list, but do not grant them access to your inbox, contacts, or notes. However, you can change the default permission for any of these categories. The options are:

No: The delegate does not have access.
Critical: The delegate can read items, but not modify them.
Author: The delegate can read and create items, and modify and delete items they create (such as meeting requests or tasks).
Editor: The delegate can do anything an author can do and can also edit and delete the items you have created.

If you just want your delegate to manage your calendar (and tasks, which can be assigned to other people), the default permissions will work fine. The option "Delegate receives copies of meeting related messages sent to me" is enabled, so the delegate does not need to access your mailbox. reception. Meeting requests and responses are sent to them automatically when it is activated.

Your delegate will not see any meeting or appointment that you have created and marked as private; they will just see that there is a private date. If you want them to see (and modify) your private meetings, activate the option "The delegate can see my private items".

Finally, it is generally a good idea to activate the option "Automatically send a message to the delegate summarizing these permissions", so that the delegate knows that he has permission to access your mailbox.

Click OK to return to the Delegates panel. The three options at the bottom that were grayed out before adding a delegate are now available.

The default option – meeting requests are sent to your delegates and a copy is sent to you for reference – works for most people, but skip to one of the other options if desired.

Once you have clicked on "OK", your delegate is added. They can now add your mailbox to their Outlook profile and access anything you have allowed them to access.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.