How to Forget a Wi-Fi Network on Mac

Person using Mac in public place to forget Wi-Fi networkGaudiLab / Shutterstock

Your Mac automatically remembers the Wi-Fi networks you’ve connected to in the past. However, the network it automatically connects to may not be the best option. Here’s what to do if you want your Mac to forget about a Wi-Fi network.

In addition to deleting old connections, forgetting a Wi-Fi network can help you resolve connection problems. If a network has changed its password and your Mac doesn’t give you a password prompt (or if it’s just unstable), you can try forgetting and joining the network.

To do this, click on the Wi-Fi icon in the menu bar of your Mac, then select “Open network preferences”.

Here, click on “Advanced”.

Under the “Wi-Fi” tab, scroll down and select the network you want your Mac to forget, then click the minus sign (-).

Click the minus sign (-).

When prompted, click “Delete” to forget the network. It will also remove network connection information from your iCloud keychain, making it inaccessible to all of your other Apple devices.

Click “OK” on the Wi-Fi screen.

Click “Apply” in the Network window to save your changes.

Your Mac has now forgotten the Wi-Fi network. If you want, you can click the Wi-Fi icon in the menu bar to reconnect to the network.

If you use multiple Wi-Fi networks in one place (like your home or office), you may not want your Mac to forget about it. In this case, you can prioritize those you use most often.

RELATED: How to prioritize Wi-Fi networks on a Mac

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.