How to Grant Temporary Permissions to Apps on Android

Grant unique permissions on Android 11
Shubham Agarwal

We often install apps that we don’t intend to open multiple times. You should not give these apps permanent access to your phone data. Android lets you offer unique permissions so that when apps are inactive, they can’t follow you.

Temporary permissions, available for running devices Android 11 and newer, can be applied for sensitive permissions like camera and GPS.

If your phone is using an older version of Android, you can take advantage of a paid third-party app called Bouncer to configure unique permissions. Here is how to use them.

Grant temporary permissions on Android

When you launch an app for the first time on Android and it requests access, the permission dialog will have three options. Select “Only this time” to approve a temporary authorization. This means that as soon as you quit this app, Android will automatically revoke it and the app will ask you again the next time you open it.

Grant one-time permission on Android 11

To enable unique permissions for existing apps, go to Settings app> Apps & notifications> See all apps.

Access the list of all apps in Android settings

Find the app whose permissions you want to change.

Go to “Permissions” and choose the permission you want the app to ask for each time you use it, for example “Microphone” or “Camera”.

Access app permissions in Android settings

Here, toggle the “Ask every time” setting.

Grant temporary permissions on Android with Bouncer

Once you have the Bouncer app installed on your Android phone or tablet, launch it and follow the on-screen instructions to configure the service.

Now every time you grant a permission, Bouncer will send you a notification asking if you want to keep or remove it. If you need the permission for a few moments, such as when you try to call an Uber and the app doesn’t mind reading your GPS data, you can click the “Schedule” button in the notification, which asks Bouncer to revoke it for a defined period of time.

Android Bouncer app authorization notification

By default, Bouncer remembers your habits. So when you ask the app to remove or keep permission on an app, it will automatically repeat the action next time. For example, if you always revoke Uber’s location access, Bouncer will do it on its own after the first time.

Grant temporary permissions on Android with the Bouncer app

In case this feature is not available by default, you can activate it manually by tapping on the gear icon located in the upper right corner of the Bouncer app and toggling the “Auto-delete” option. .

Configure automatic deletion of permissions on the Android app

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.