How to Make iPhone Apps Always Ask for Location Access

The application Find my application requesting access to the location on an iPhone under iOS 13.Konstantin Savusia / Shutterstock.com

It's time to take another look at the location permissions of your iPhone. Now it's no longer necessary to give applications permanent access to your site – you can only grant access once and request consent whenever an app wants your location.

A new privacy option for your site

Before iOS 13 for iPhone and the new iPadOS for iPads, you only had three choices when an application wanted to access your location: Never, In Use, and Always.

The "While in use" option is a good compromise: you can make sure that applications can display maps and use your location while you use them. Unlike apps with "Always" permission, they can not access your location in the background.

There is still a problem here: if you give your app access to your location once, your app can continue to access your location multiple times if you use it later. What if you just want to extract a card once in an application without giving it permanent access to your location?

You can now force apps to "Ask Next Time"

The Allow Once option to access the Yelp location on an iPhone.

Now there is another compromise option: "Allow Once", also called "Ask Next Time". Whenever an application wants to access your site, you can give it access to your site just this time and require it to ask again next time by pressing the "Allow once" option. ". You control how far the app can access your location.

This change is part of iOS 13 for iPhone and the new iPadOS for iPad. As the new Bluetooth permission applications require, this change can help protect the privacy of your physical location. It's up to you to decide if you want to reveal it to applications.

Previously, to accomplish something like this, you had to allow access to an application for localization, then immediately dig the Settings application and revoke it.

RELATED, RELATED, RELATED: Why iPhone and iPad applications ask to use Bluetooth

When you might want to do that

Many applications require access to your site but do not necessarily require it all the time. For example, a store application might request access to a location when you check out a nearby location map. In the past, you had to select "While Using" to grant this access, but the application would then be free to access your geographic location as much as it did. would like when you would use it. This data could then be used to track your buying preferences and target your advertising.

This new option allows you to access your location once.

Do you have to make sure that every application you use always requires access to the location? Probably not. Some apps just need your location. You will probably want to give Uber or Lyft access to your site every time you use it to take a ride.

On the other hand, if you simply want to indicate your location to an application to be able to access a specific feature, the "Allow once" option is a smart option to start. If you use the location permissions of the application often enough, you can select "Allow when using the application" in the future and avoid prompts.

How to force previously installed applications to request

If you have already given an application access to your site – or denied it – you will not see this prompt. However, you can still select the "Ask Next Time" option for any of your installed iPhone or iPad applications.

To do this, go to Settings> Privacy> Location Services. You will see a list of apps and their location permission settings.

An iPhone location service screen showing various Google apps that are set to Use, Ask, and Always.

Tap the name of an application here to change its location permissions. You can then select "Ask Next Time", if you wish.

This option is available for all applications. Application developers can not prevent you from selecting it for their applications.

Location permissions on the iPhone indicating that the Yelp application is set to Ask Next Time.

By the way, if you select "Ask Next Time" and then deny access to your location, the application accessing your location will be set to "Never" and access will no longer be possible. This prevents an application from bombarding you with localization requests. You can still access the Settings application and reset it to "Ask Next Time".

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.