How to Merge and Unmerge Cells in Microsoft Excel

Merging and removing cells in Microsoft Excel is a great way to keep your spreadsheet clean, organized, and easy to understand. The most common use is to create a header to identify the content in multiple columns, but for whatever reason, this can be done quickly in Excel.

Note that Excel does not allow you to split a cell the same way you can in a table in Microsoft Word. You can undo the merge of cells that you have already merged.

Cell fusion

Cell fusion combines two or more cells into a single cell. To do this, select the cells that you want to merge.

Highight cells in Excel

Then, under the "Home" tab, click the "Merge and Center" button.

Merge and Center "width =" 221 "height =" 135 "src =" / pagespeed_static / 1.JiBnMqyl6S.gif "onload =" pagespeed.lazyLoadImages.loadIfVisibleAndMaybeBeacon (this); "onerror =" this.onerror = null ;; lazyLoadImages.loadIfVisibleAndMaybeBeacon (this);

As its name indicates, this will merge the selected cells. Any text in the cells will be centered by default.

Merged cells in Excel

As you can see, cells A1, B1 and C1 have been merged into a single cell. There are also other options to choose from. To access these options, click the arrow next to "Merge and Center" and a drop-down menu will appear.

drop-down options

These options are relatively simple. One thing to note is that "Merge On" merges only selected cells in a row, but not the cells in a column.

So what happens if we merge cells already containing content? This is something you need to be very careful about. Merging cells with existing data retains only the value in the upper left and removes all other values. This means that all data, except the data in the upper left cell, will be deleted. However, Microsoft warns you before merging the cells, but make sure you understand that the data will be lost before continuing.

Unmerging cells

Unmelted cells divide the previously fused cells into individual cells. This is as simple as selecting the merged cells and then clicking the "Merge and Center" button again to disable the setting. Similarly, you can click the arrow next to "Merge and Center" to access the drop-down menu and click "Delete Cells".

Unmerge Cells

If you cancel the merge of a cell containing data, all data is placed in the cell at the top left and all other cells will be empty.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.