How to Share Access to Your Wyze Devices

Wyze cam and Wyze Cam Pan
Wyze

Sometimes you may want to give a friend or family member access to your Wyze videos. Or you may want individual control of Do Not Disturb settings. Rather than sharing your account, you need to share access to your Wyze devices.

Do not share your password Share your devices

Wyze application notification videos

We like Wyze products. Whether you are looking for a camera, a panoramic camera, or a sensor systemit is difficult to find another product as good for such a low price. However, unless you live alone, adding sensors and video cameras to your living space usually means sharing access to these devices.

You can give your username and password, but in general, giving your password is a bad idea. He can be sure of trust your password with a spousebut what about a teenager, a friend at home or a brother-in-law who is watching your kids? Even if you are used to giving your password, you will encounter a different problem with Wyze sensor systems.

If you have sensors on your doors, each device receives a notification every time you open and close these doors, depending on your settings. Everyone will get notifications all day and may not want to. Fortunately, the Wyze app includes a Do Not Disturb feature, but it spreads across all phones and tablets using the same account. Everyone is ready not to disturb, or no one does.

Instead of sharing your account, you need to set up individual Wyze accounts for anyone who needs to see your video feeds and notifications from your sensor. And then share access to your Wyze devices.
Just be aware that one of the disadvantages is that only the main account can see the videos stored on the SD card. For everyone, live streaming and video alerts are the only options.

How to share access to your Wyze devices

Before you start, create a Wyze account for each person with whom you want to share access.

Then open the Wyze application with your connected principal. Tap "Accounts" in the lower right corner.

Wyze application with an arrow pointing to the account button.

Tap on "Device Sharing".

Wyze account settings with option to share devices around devices.

Tap the device you want to share.

Wyze my devices optoins with box around the garage device.

Tap the plus symbol above the "Add a share" text.

manage the screen of the device with an arrow pointing to the symbol More

Type the email address for the account you want to share, and on the next screen, tap "Share."

Share device settings with the account entry box.

You will also need to repeat these steps for each device to which you want to share access. Helpfully, any email you have previously viewed will be displayed as a "recent actions" option when you need to re-enter it.

From now on, each user can activate individually do not disturb according to his needs. And if you provide temporary access to someone outside your family, they will not have access to all the history of your videos and you can revoke access later. Just go back to the shared devices dialog box and tap on their account to delete it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.