How to Stop Selfies From Appearing in the iPhone’s Selfies Album

iPhone displaying the Albums section in the Photos app featuring the Selfies album
Khamosh Pathak

The Photos app on your iPhone automatically displays all the photos from the front camera in the Selfies album. But what if you do not want a photo to appear? Here are some solutions.

Hide the selfie of all albums

The easiest way to hide a photo of the album Selfies is to move it to the hidden album. The disadvantage is that the photo will be hidden from all albums, including the album Recents.

To hide a photo, open it in the Photos application, and then press the "Share" button that looks like a box with an arrow.

Tap the Share button to open the sharing sheet in the Photos app.

Then select "Hide" the photo. The image will instantly disappear from the Selfies album.

Tap Hide to hide the photo from all albums.

To find the photo, go to the "Albums" tab, scroll down to "More albums" and tap "Hidden".

Tap Albums, and then tap Hidden to view hidden photos.

Delete EXIF ​​data using shortcuts

Apple uses EXIF data (metadata attached to each photo) to sort the images in the Selfies album. If the EXIF ​​data indicates that the photo was taken using the camera from the front of the iPhone, it will automatically end up in the Selfies album. How do you stop this? Simple: Delete the EXIF ​​data.

the Shortcut App is one of the easiest ways to reliably remove EXIF ​​data from your selfies. The Shortcuts app is integrated with iOS 13 and iPadOS 13 and later. If you are using iOS 12, you can download the software shortcuts app from the App Store.

You can think of a shortcut as a set of actions automatically executed one after the other. For example, you can create a shortcut that takes a PNG image as a source, resize it to a particular resolution, convert it to JPEG, and save the photo to your camera. All of this would happen with just a tap.

But you do not need to write your own automation to use the application. You can import an existing shortcut, add it to your library, and start using the automated shortcut.

Metadata Remover is one of those shortcuts. It consists of actions that remove metadata from the chosen image. It will even create a copy of the image and delete the original file for you. This means that the original image will disappear from the Selfies album.

Before going any further, a note to run iOS 13, iPadOS 13 or newer. Apple has integrated the Shortcuts app directly into the operating system. While this is beneficial in many ways, it does change the way third party shortcuts are seen.

When you try to install a shortcut downloaded from the Internet, the Shortcuts application tells you that the shortcut can not be run because the security settings in the shortcut application do not allow unsafe shortcuts.

The application of shortcuts does not open the shortcuts downloaded from the Internet by default

Apple considers that every shortcut you have downloaded on the Internet is inherently untrustworthy, as it may jeopardize your personal data. If the risk that this entails suits you, you can allow the use of unreliable shortcuts.

To do this, open the "Settings" application, go to the "Shortcuts" section, and then press the toggle button next to "Allow unreliable shortcuts."

Tap the button next to Allow untrusted shortcuts.

In the pop-up window, press "Allow" and enter the password of your device to confirm.

Tap Allow to allow untrusted shortcuts to run on your device.

Now open the Shortcut Remover Metadata on your iPhone or iPad and press "Get a shortcut".

This will open the Shortcuts application. On this screen, swipe down the screen and tap "Add an untrusted shortcut" (if you are using a newer version of iOS or iPadOS).

Open the shortcut in Safari and then add it to your library in the Shortcuts app

Go now to the "My Shortcuts" page, press the "Metadata Delimiter" shortcut, and then choose "Select Photo."

Then select a photo from the album "Selfies". Then tap "Save in film". In the next window, delete the oldest photo.

After running the shortcut, choose the photo and save it to your photo roll.

The next time you open the Photos application, you will see the new photo at the bottom of the Recent Album and no longer in the Selfies album.

RELATED, RELATED, RELATED: What are EXIF ​​data and how can I remove them from my photos?

Delete EXIF ​​data with the help of the SafeShare application

SafeShare application (Free) is designed to help you share photos online without metadata. It also allows you to save the photo without metadata in your filmstrip.

Open the SafeShare app on your iPhone or iPad and tap "Choose an image". Select the picture in your library, and then tap "Save picture" when the share menu appears.

The SafeShare app deletes the metadata and saves the image

The new image will be stored in your film in the Recents album. This will not appear in the Selfies album. SafeShare does not do anything to the original photo, so you must delete it and delete it manually.

The App Store offers several ways to remove metadata from photos, such as Viewexif application if you have problems with SafeShare.

Delete Photos from Selfies Album on Mac

This process is simpler and less destructive for Mac owners. If you use the Mac Photos Application and sync all your photos with iCloud Photos, a Mac application called Exif Editor's Photos ($ 0.99) allows you to selectively delete EXIF ​​data from the front camera field for iPhone. (This data is what Apple uses to automatically sort photos in the Selfies album.)

Open the Photos app on your Mac, select the selfie and export the photo using the "Command + E" hotkey. Open the Photos Exif Editor application and drag the photo from the Finder. You can drag multiple images if you want.

In the EXIF ​​Data Editor window, look for the "Lens Template" field and delete the text.

Delete the text in the Lens Template field to delete the selfie camera data

Click the "Start Process" button to edit the EXIF ​​data.

Click Start Process to delete the EXIF ​​data and save the photo.

In the next window, choose the location where you want to save the photo.

Then open the Finder application, find the photo you just saved and drag it into the Photos application to import it into your iCloud Photos library. The photo will now appear on all your devices, but not in the Selfies album.

RELATED, RELATED, RELATED: How to set up and use photos on your Mac

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.