How to Stop Windows From Automatically Connecting to a Wi-Fi Network

Windows automatically connects to Wi-Fi networks to which you have already been connected. On Windows 10, you can tell Windows not to automatically connect to certain networks. Windows will remember the passphrase and other connection details, but will only connect if you manually initiate a connection.

This is useful for public Wi-Fi networks that you do not want to always connect to automatically, especially if they require a slow internet connection or access.

On Windows 10

To prevent Windows from automatically connecting to a Wi-Fi network in the future, you can simply choose this option when connecting to a network.

When you select a network from the Wi-Fi pop-up menu, uncheck the "Auto Connect" box before clicking the "Connect" button.

If you are not near the network at the moment, you will not see the network in the Wi-Fi panel. However, you can still edit the Wi-Fi network profile saved on your system for change this setting.

To do this, go to Settings> Network and Internet> Wi-Fi. Click the "Manage known networks" link.

Select the network you wish to modify from the list and click on "Properties". You can use the search box or filter options to find the exact network you are looking for here.

Set the "Automatic connection in range" option to "No" here. Windows does not automatically connect to the network, but you can manually connect to the network without re-entering its passphrase and other settings.

On Windows 7 and 8

This option is not available on Windows 7 and 8. If the Wi-Fi network identification information is registered on your system, Windows will automatically connect to it. The only way to prevent Windows from automatically reconnecting to a registered Wi-Fi network is to tell Windows to completely forget this registered Wi-Fi network. This means that you will have to re-enter the Wi-Fi network passphrase and other identifying information if you wish to use it in the future.

To forget a network under Windows 7, go to Control Panel> View Status and Network Tasks> Manage Wireless Networks . Select the Wi-Fi network you want to forget and click "Delete".

On Windows 8, you must use the netsh command from the command prompt to delete a registered Wi-Fi network.

To do this, launch a command prompt window and execute the following command, replacing "WiFiName" with the name of the registered Wi-Fi network.

netsh wlan delete profile name = "WiFiName"

After executing this command, your computer will forget the network.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.